Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 7th, 2008

As a good citizen in a free society, I try to read at least one article per day to keep my mind active. Today I stumbled across an article entitled “On the Advantages of Dying Young.” It’s a concise piece that attempts to question the current culture in America and Europe that will do anything to preserve life even if that life is not worth living.

Cities in America have done everything from banning smoking to banning trans fat all in the name of health. Unfortunately, this legislation passed in the name of health rarely makes news in America. The only reason I see for a lack of serious debate on issues like the smoking ban is that a large majority of Americans are fine with the government stepping in and having absolute power when it comes to their health.

I live in Virginia and when the state tried to pass a smoking ban in restaurants and public places, my brother and I, and I am sure many others, called our representatives and expressed our concern over the constitutionality of the smoking ban. The bill passed, but it only requires business’ to post a sign outside that informs patrons that people may be smoking inside.

When I hear about movements like the smoking ban, I always think of the people that started these movements. I think of the hours they spent on the phone, writing letters to the editor and to politicians, and the angry conversations with friends and colleagues – I start to think that for all the time these people put into these causes – are they stopping to enjoy the smoking ban themselves? Are they able to sit in a restaurant that has banned smoking and just enjoy some trans fatty fries and a burger in smoke-free heaven?

Perhaps following causes is like following bands. When the Grateful Dead lost its leader, the Deadheads immediately found Phish’s trail. And once smoking is outlawed everywhere, will the Causeheads be content? Or will their health obsessed witch-hunt turn to closing their local Chili’s or T.G.I. Fridays? When the air is clean and their minds are operating more smoothly, they may discover that the burgers and fries they eat are killing them faster than second-hand smoke ever could.

Article referenced

Read Full Post »